Skip to content
PeptideSport
tru Weight Loss logo

Provider review

tru Weight Loss review

By Derek Olsson ·

Monthly pricing comes with a three-month commitment

The public FAQ lists semaglutide at $299/month and tirzepatide at $399/month with medication, physician supervision and nutrition support. Early termination for intolerance is offered, but it is not a refund promise.

Price verified

Straight talk: how we earn — some, not all, of these are affiliate links; start a program through one and we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Straight about the rest, too: the write-ups say what each provider is actually worth, and a commission does not change a word of them. Full disclosure here.

On this page

The verdict

tru Weight Loss offers physician-directed treatment from a Germantown, Maryland practice. Its FAQ gives a usable package comparison: semaglutide $299/month or tirzepatide $399/month, including medication, monthly physician supervision and nutrition support. Both require a three-month subscription. Patients who do not tolerate medication may terminate early, but the page does not explain whether that returns a payment already made. The program advertises free initial consultation and lab work, plus regular nutritional support. Confirm the tests, dose-specific price and cancellation mechanics for your plan; neither a named dispensing pharmacy nor a state-by-state service list is supplied on this page.

tru Weight Loss isn't on any of our comparisons yet. The providers we compare in this category are on our semaglutide provider ranking. Nothing on this page is a performance claim — see how semaglutide works for what the treatment does and does not do.

Alternatives to tru Weight Loss

Other providers we work with. Compare prices before you sign up anywhere.

Who it is for, and who it is not

A good fit if

  • You want monthly physician supervision and nutrition support in a published medication package
  • You can make a three-month commitment and confirm the intolerance provision before paying

Look elsewhere if

  • You need a flexible one-month subscription from the start
  • You need insurance, HSA or FSA payment accepted

What it actually costs

What they advertise

Semaglutide $299/month; tirzepatide $399/month, including medication, monthly physician supervision and nutrition support. A three-month subscription is required.

What you actually pay, month to month

Semaglutide costs $299 monthly. Tirzepatide costs $399 monthly. Both packages require a three-month subscription; the page does not specify an upfront total, all-dose guarantee or payment schedule beyond the monthly package prices.

The commitment trap

Monthly package pricing does not remove the three-month commitment. Early termination for intolerance does not establish a refund of an existing payment.

Money you will meet later

  • B12 shots and complementary services can cost extra
  • Insurance, HSA and FSA cards are not accepted, according to the FAQ

Prices come from tru Weight Loss's own website and can change without notice — confirm before you buy. Work out what a vial actually gives you with our peptide dose calculator.

What is included

Compare the total cost, including fees and any minimum commitment. Here is what tru Weight Loss bundles in, and what it does not.

Clinician consult

A free initial telehealth consultation and monthly physician supervision are advertised

Bloodwork / labs

Free lab work is advertised

Confirm the required tests and repeat-testing coverage; the page does not promise every future lab is free.

Follow-ups and dose changes

Monthly physician check-ins and monthly nutrition contacts are described

alongside more general frequent check-ins.

Human support

Nutrition, behavioral and stress-management support are described

individual credentials and response times need confirmation.

Injection supplies

The page does not itemize injection supplies

Shipping

Medication delivery is part of the advertised program

a delivery window is not specified.

Pharmacy, labs and oversight

The pharmacy

Your dispensing pharmacy needs confirmation. The page describes U.S.-licensed compounding pharmacies without naming an individual dispenser.

Oversight

Monthly physician check-ins and monthly nutrition contacts are described, alongside more general frequent check-ins.

Compounded peptides are not FDA-approved products, and a 503A pharmacy compounds for a named patient while a 503B outsourcing facility manufactures in batches under CGMP. Neither is a quality guarantee on its own — a named facility is simply a fact you can check, and an unnamed “partner pharmacy network” is not. Our guide to verifying a certificate of analysis covers what to ask for.

Where you can get it

Confirm your state before subscribing. A Maryland practice address and telemedicine description do not establish a complete service area.

The honest cons

The part they would rather you skipped

The package price is clear, but the three-month commitment and early-termination provision need operational detail: ask when cancellation takes effect and what happens to charges already paid.

  • Three-month minimum before ordinary cancellation
  • Intolerance termination does not specify a refund
  • No named dispensing pharmacy on the offer page
  • Insurance, HSA and FSA cards are not accepted

Weigh these trade-offs against the costs, care and terms above. For questions to ask before enrolling, see our vendor red-flags guide.

Questions about tru Weight Loss

What does the $299 monthly package cover?

The FAQ lists semaglutide medication, monthly physician supervision and nutrition support for $299/month. Tirzepatide is a separate $399/month package. These figures do not establish that every dose or extra wellness service has the same price.

Must I pay for three months upfront?

A three-month subscription is required, but the page does not give an upfront invoice or detailed billing schedule. Do not treat three times the monthly figure as a confirmed charge due at enrollment; request the payment terms.

Can I leave early if medication causes problems?

The FAQ permits early termination if you are not tolerating medication. It does not explain the process, the effective date or a refund of charges already paid. Ask how the provision applies before starting treatment and discuss symptoms with your treating clinician.

Are labs and ongoing visits included?

Free initial consultation and lab work are advertised. The page describes monthly physician and nutrition contacts, but it does not define every covered test or repeat-testing allowance. Confirm the required tests and any additional service charges for your plan.

Can I use insurance or HSA/FSA funds?

The FAQ says insurance, HSA and FSA cards are not accepted. B12 shots and complementary services can also cost extra, so ask for the full package and optional-service charges.

Which pharmacy and states does tru use?

The page describes U.S.-licensed compounding pharmacies without naming your dispenser or listing all service states. The Germantown address and telemedicine offer are not a coverage map. Confirm your state and the pharmacy assigned to your prescription before paying.

Similar providers

Read this before you buy

A provider comparison is half the decision. The other half is whether the compound does anything for you at all — and whether it is allowed where you compete. Growth-hormone secretagogues are banned in tested sport, year-round, and a prescription does not change that.

Provider offers and terms are based on tru Weight Loss's public information. Other sources, where used, are identified in this review. Prices and terms change without notice — confirm on tru Weight Loss's site before you buy. Provider names and logos on this page identify the company under review; their use does not imply endorsement, sponsorship or affiliation. This page is informational and not medical advice; compounded peptides are not FDA-approved, and growth-hormone secretagogues are banned in tested sport year-round. See our disclosure and editorial policy.