Skip to content
PeptideSport

Evidence review

Is Ion Peptide Legit? Its Claims, Lab Reports and Record

Ion Peptide sells "research use only" peptides, including code-named GLP-1s. What it claims, how its lab reports check out, and its FDA and court record.

Written by Derek OlssonSports Science Editor

Ion Peptide is one of the larger names in the online "research peptide" market, and one of the most searched. It sells more than a hundred compounds, labels every one "for research use only," and publishes a large library of lab reports. This page checks three things from primary records: what the company says about itself, whether its lab reports hold up against a standard checklist, and whether any regulator or court has acted against it. It is not a review and carries no score.

The short answer

Ion Peptide, from the primary record

  • Sells everything as "research use only," run by New Mexico and Georgia LLCs.
  • Code names hide drug names: its own lab reports identify ION-3R as retatrutide.
  • Publishes hundreds of lot reports; the newest pass all five COA checks.
  • Some older reports print no lot number and no purity figure.
  • No FDA warning letter, DOJ release, or federal case names it.

What Ion Peptide says about itself

Every product listing carries the same line: "For research purposes only. Not for human or animal use and not FDA-approved." The site-wide disclaimer adds that products "are not intended for human or animal consumption" and that "no instructions for preparation, administration, or dosage are provided." Its compliance page says the business is Great Research, LLC, "a New Mexico-based Limited Liability Company," and its contact page lists a second entity, Ion Research, LLC, with a mailing address in Alpharetta, Georgia. On quality, the homepage promises "Authenticity Guaranteed," "Third-Party Tested" and "Batch Tested," and the compliance page says "every product undergoes rigorous testing via HPLC and Mass Spectrometry to confirm identity and purity."

The compliance page also says its labels follow "21 CFR 809.10(c)." That regulation is real, but it is the labeling rule for in-vitro diagnostic products — lab test kits and reagents — and its "For Research Use Only" wording reads "Not for use in diagnostic procedures"56. It is not a rule written for peptide vials. FDA's own reading of "research use only" on peptide vials is on the record in its warning letters to other sellers: "Despite statements on your product labeling marketing your products as 'RESEARCH USE ONLY'... evidence obtained from your websites establish that your products are intended to be drugs for human use."2 Federal prosecutors have called the same kind of disclaimer, on another seller's site, "a ruse to avoid FDA scrutiny."78 Neither case involved Ion Peptide.

The code names: ION-1S, ION-2T, ION-3R

Several of the catalog's best-sellers carry code names rather than drug names. The lab reports say what they are. An outside lab's certificate for an ION-3R lot lists the identity specification as "Retatrutide" and the result as "Confirmed," and that report checks out on the lab's own lookup page12. A certificate for an ION-1S lot gives a molecular formula of C187H291N45O59 — the formula of semaglutide10.

For a buyer, a code name is a practical problem before it is a legal one. A vial that says "ION-3R" does not tell you which molecule is inside, how it compares in strength to the drug studied in trials, or what interactions and side effects to watch for. The only place the drug's name appears is a lab report most buyers never open.

Code names do not change how regulators see a product. In an August 2026 warning letter to a different seller, FDA wrote out a code-named product as "'GLP-3R' (retatrutide)" and treated it as an unapproved new drug; the same letter noted that selling bacteriostatic water alongside peptides, "as a solvent for reconstituting your products," pointed to injection3. Ion Peptide's compliance page says it ships bacteriostatic water labeled "Not for injection or clinical use." FDA's consumer page on unapproved GLP-1 drugs says the agency has warned companies selling semaglutide, tirzepatide and retatrutide "falsely labeled 'for research purposes' or 'not for human consumption,'" and that such products may hold the wrong ingredient, too much, too little, or none4. Retatrutide is not FDA-approved; its published human data come from clinical trials15.

Does it publish batch-specific COAs?

Yes, in volume. Its certificate library is searchable by product and batch number and holds several hundred report files, from at least four outside labs. We read four reports and ran each through the five checks in our guide to how to verify a peptide COA.

COA checklist, four reports

Swipe to view all columns

ReportLot no.PurityIdentityLab look-up
BPC-157 · Kovera · May 2026Yes99.365%LC-MSWorks
ION-3R · ILS · May 2026Yes99.62%HPLC onlyWorks
BPC-157 · ILS · Jul 2026Yes99.8% (mean)HPLC onlyCode printed
Blend · AFI · Feb 2026"N/A"Not reportedNoneNone
A sample of four reports, not the whole library. A pass describes the paperwork for one lot, not the safety of the compound.

The strongest report is a May 2026 BPC-157 certificate from Kovera Labs. It names the batch, reports 99.365% purity with a chromatogram, confirms identity by LC-MS, and adds endotoxin, sterility, heavy-metal and net-content results across two vials. Its report number pulls up the same lot and results on the lab's own website11.

The ION-3R report from ILS Laboratories is close behind: lot number, 99.62% purity, a chromatogram, a two-vial check, dates, and a working lookup code12. The gap is in the fine print. Its notes say identity was confirmed "by HPLC," by "chromatographic retention time comparison with a reference standard" — not by mass spectrometry. A matching retention time is evidence, but it is weaker than a measured molecular mass, and it is not what the company's own compliance page promises.

The weakest report is a February 2026 summary for a BPC-157/TB-500 blend from a third lab. It prints "Batch/Lot #: N/A," gives milligram amounts for each peptide but no purity percentage, and has no identity result at all. It cannot be tied to any vial a buyer holds.

How to check a report for your own lot

If you already hold a vial, the checklist takes a few minutes:

  1. Find the lot number on the vial, not on the product page. Search the library by that batch number, not by product name.
  2. Match it exactly. A report for the same product but a different lot says nothing about your vial.
  3. Look for a purity percentage and a chromatogram. A milligram amount alone is a content check, not a purity check.
  4. Read how identity was confirmed. "LC-MS" or "mass spectrometry" measures the molecule's mass; "retention time" only shows it ran like a reference sample.
  5. Use the lab's own look-up. Type the report number or access code into the testing lab's website, not a link from the seller, and confirm the lot and results match.

A report that fails any of these leaves a hole, and one with no lot number cannot be tied to anything you own.

The pattern across the library is one that has improved over time, with the newest reports the most complete. It also means the label "COA verified" tells you little on its own. The report for your lot is the one that counts, and it should pass all five checks.

Enforcement record: what the primary sources show

This section uses only primary records, matched on the company's legal names and its addresses — never on a similar-sounding name.

  • FDA warning letters. A full-text search of FDA's warning-letter database for Ion Peptide, Great Research, Ion Research, and both street addresses returns no letter1.
  • DOJ press releases. No Department of Justice press release names the company or either LLC.
  • Federal court records. In the CourtListener archive of federal dockets, neither LLC nor the brand is a party to any case9.

No public enforcement action names Ion Peptide. That is a statement about the record, not a clearance: FDA's warning letters are a sample of what the agency acts on, not a list of everything it has reviewed. The same database shows the agency's attention on this market rising. It holds letters to "research use only" peptide sellers dated December 2024, several dated March 31, 2026, and a further group dated August 24, 2026 — most of them about GLP-1 compounds sold under research labels1.

What this means if you are deciding

The compounds are the larger issue, not the paperwork. BPC-157 sits on FDA's list of bulk substances that may present significant safety risks13. Retatrutide and semaglutide sold outside a pharmacy are, in FDA's words, unapproved drugs. And testing of this supply chain has repeatedly found labels that do not match contents: in a JAMA study of 44 products sold online as SARMs, only 23 contained the drug class on the label and 4 contained no active compound14. A clean certificate narrows that risk for one lot; it does not make the product a medicine. For the warning signs that apply to any seller, see our guide to peptide vendor red flags, and for the legal picture, where to buy peptides and the research-chemical gray zone.

What a licensed prescriber can give you today

If you came here looking at a code-named GLP-1, the prescribed versions are the regulated route: a clinician who checks whether the drug suits you, a state-licensed pharmacy, and a product made for human use. FDA's advice to people buying GLP-1 drugs online is to buy only from state-licensed pharmacies4. A prescription also comes with a starting dose, a plan for raising it, and someone to call when side effects show up — the parts a research vial leaves out by design.

Featured partner

CoreAge Rx

From $99/mo

Consult included, no commitment lever, no labs required — on the columns we can source.

If you are drug tested, read this first: These are banned in tested sport, at all times — and a prescription does not change that. Check the compound.

See CoreAge Rx pricing
Pricing
Not a flat rate
Pharmacy
Unnamed network
Labs
Not required

Advertising disclosure · both cards are paid partners and we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you — see our disclosure.

Also worth knowing

RNK Health

Publishes its whole $169 / $149 / $129 ladder before the quiz, and the $129 takes a six-month prepay.

Pricing
Flat price
Pharmacy
Not disclosed
Labs
Not required
See RNK Health

Frequently asked questions

Is Ion Peptide a real company?

Yes. Its compliance page names Great Research, LLC, a New Mexico limited liability company, and its contact page lists a second entity, Ion Research, LLC, in Alpharetta, Georgia. It sells peptides labeled for research use only, not for human or animal use.

What is ION-3R?

A code name. An outside lab's certificate for an ION-3R lot lists the identity specification as retatrutide and the result as confirmed, and the report checks out on the lab's own website. Retatrutide is not an approved drug, and FDA has warned other sellers about retatrutide sold as a research chemical.

Are Ion Peptide's COAs legitimate?

Its newest reports are strong: lot-matched, with purity, chromatograms and codes that work on the testing lab's own website. Quality varies across the library, though. Some reports confirm identity only by HPLC retention time, not mass spectrometry, and one older blend report prints no lot number and no purity figure. Check the report for your exact lot.

Has the FDA taken action against Ion Peptide?

No FDA warning letter, Justice Department press release or federal court case names Ion Peptide or its two LLCs. FDA has sent warning letters to other sellers of research-labeled GLP-1 peptides, including one that sold retatrutide under a code name.

References

  1. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Warning Letters (searchable database). FDA — Inspections, Compliance, Enforcement, and Criminal Investigations. https://www.fda.gov/inspections-compliance-enforcement-and-criminal-investigations/compliance-actions-and-activities/warning-letters
  2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2024). Warning Letter: Summit Research Peptides (MARCS-CMS 695607). FDA Warning Letters. https://www.fda.gov/inspections-compliance-enforcement-and-criminal-investigations/warning-letters/summit-research-peptides-695607-12102024
  3. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Warning Letter: Peak Performance Peptides (MARCS-CMS 735127). FDA Warning Letters. https://www.fda.gov/inspections-compliance-enforcement-and-criminal-investigations/warning-letters/peak-performance-peptides-735127-08242026
  4. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). FDA's Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss. FDA — Drug Alerts and Statements. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/postmarket-drug-safety-information-patients-and-providers/fdas-concerns-unapproved-glp-1-drugs-used-weight-loss
  5. Code of Federal Regulations (2026). 21 CFR 809.10 — Labeling for in vitro diagnostic products. eCFR. https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/section-809.10
  6. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2013). Distribution of In Vitro Diagnostic Products Labeled for Research Use Only or Investigational Use Only (guidance). FDA Guidance Documents. https://www.fda.gov/regulatory-information/search-fda-guidance-documents/distribution-in-vitro-diagnostic-products-labeled-research-use-only-or-investigational-use-only
  7. U.S. Attorney's Office, District of Maryland (2016). Owner of Bodybuilding Drug Companies Sentenced for Selling Misbranded Drugs. U.S. Department of Justice. https://www.justice.gov/usao-md/pr/owner-bodybuilding-drug-companies-sentenced-selling-misbranded-drugs
  8. U.S. Attorney's Office, District of Maryland (2012). Nevada Man Indicted for Allegedly Selling Misbranded Drugs over the Internet and Shipping Them to Customers by Mail. U.S. Department of Justice. https://www.justice.gov/archive/usao/md/news/2012/NevadaManIndictedforAllegedlySellingMisbrandedDrugsovertheInternetandMailingThemtoCustomers.html
  9. Free Law Project (2026). CourtListener RECAP archive of federal court dockets (party search). CourtListener. https://www.courtlistener.com/
  10. National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). Semaglutide (CID 56843331) — molecular formula C187H291N45O59. PubChem. https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/56843331
  11. Kovera Labs (2026). Certificate of analysis verification (look-up by report number). Kovera Labs. https://koveralabs.com/verify
  12. ILS Laboratories (2026). Certificate verification portal (look-up by access code). ILS Laboratories. https://ils-lab.com/
  13. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2023). Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding That May Present Significant Safety Risks. FDA — Human Drug Compounding. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/human-drug-compounding/certain-bulk-drug-substances-use-compounding-may-present-significant-safety-risks
  14. Van Wagoner RM, Eichner A, Bhasin S, Deuster PA, Eichner D (2017). Chemical Composition and Labeling of Substances Marketed as Selective Androgen Receptor Modulators and Sold via the Internet.. JAMA. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29183075/
  15. Jastreboff AM, Kaplan LM, Frías JP, et al. (2023). Triple-Hormone-Receptor Agonist Retatrutide for Obesity - A Phase 2 Trial.. New England Journal of Medicine. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/37366315/

Medical disclaimer: This content is for general educational purposes only and is not medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a licensed healthcare professional before starting, stopping, or changing any treatment.